The end.

As I left Norway yesterday, I was struck with the most intense sadness I’ve ever felt when leaving a place. Ever. And I’ve moved a lot and said many goodbyes. But nothing that compared to the feeling inside of me as I drove away from Fredtun Folkehøyskole and got on the plane. As foreign as it was 9 months ago, Norway has become home for me. How does that even happen? A foreign country, across the globe from where my real family lives is now the only place I ever want to be.

I can’t explain it, I can only hope you don’t relate…Or maybe that you do relate. Because leaving a place that you love, and leaving people that you have come to love, is something that really makes you appreciate what you had. That’s important to do and it is very difficult to do while those things are within your grasp all day every day.

You don’t think about losing the simple things like meal times with friends you’ve lived with for a year, Game of Throne Tuesday nights, watching TV until early morning hours, pranking teachers and fellow students, Morning meeting song singing at 9:00 a.m., Freaky Friday activities, until those things aren’t happening anymore. You don’t think about how much you love your friends’ jokes during class, the time you spend with them and even just seeing them… until all those things are over.

It hit me that I’ve made some best friends that have changed my life and my perspective on a lot of things. I can only pray to God and hope that somehow our paths cross again in the future (hopefully soon!).

But that is a hard thing to do. To have faith that things will work out and paths that are supposed to cross again, will… It’s hard, as exciting as college is going to be, to not want to turn my butt around and fly back to Norway.

I just have to remember, that I have a whole bunch of adventures waiting for me in Nashville and elsewhere…and so do those best friends of mine. We will live our separate lives, keep in touch and one day meet again. Truth is, I miss them. I love them. I miss Norway. I love Norway. But life goes on. Adventures will continue to happen. We will meet again. Thank you for the most challenging, self-discovering, amazing year of my life. ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The end.

  1. Papa Roper

    I am sure you are sad leaving such great friends. It is tough! I pray you find new ones where you are going. Your family loves you very much and wants you to be happy. It is wonderful to have such an experience but the real beautiful world awaits you. Work, success, etc. will all be a new adventure for you. Life can be great wherever we are. Keep your eyes on God and do your very best to do His will.
    Love Papa

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

